Solarvalley Graduate School
for Photovoltaics
Science - Basis for innovation

The Solarvalley Graduate School for Photovoltaics adresses students looking to do a doctorate after their Master’s degree. A broadly based course of training “also going outside the box” is made possible by the cooperation of three universities

  • TU Bergakademie Freiberg
  • TU Ilmenau
  • Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg

These universities cooperate with research institutes and universities of applied sciences in the three federal states of Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt und Thuringia.

The Graduate Schools of the three universities dedicate themselves to the following focal points:

  • 1. Graduate School for Photovoltaics (TU Bergakademie Freiberg)
    The Graduate School for Photovoltaics started in September 2008 and has been integrated into the Graduate School of the Technical University Bergakademie Freiberg. It has set itself the objective of examining the backgrounds of photovoltaics and its industrial production along the entire value-added chain of silicon-based photovoltaics.

  • 2. StrukturSolar (Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg/ Anhalt University of Applied Sciences)
    StrukturSolar was started in 2012 and is supported by the BMBF as a cooperative research institutions. Innovative structuring concepts for next-generation solar cells are developed.

  • 3. PhotoGrad (TU Ilmenau)
    PhotoGrad started in October 2012 with a new concept for a Graduate School. There is structured doctorate study in photovoltaics “from the cell to the system” in cooperation with industrial and research partners.In a new open innovation approach, research of industry and science cooperate at the university both in setting the subject and also in implementation and financing.

© Solarvalley - Gustav-Tauschek-Straße 2 D-99099 Erfurt - Tel. +49 361 600 85 700 - E-Mail: - Impressum & Datenschutz